International Headache Society

 IHS – Types of headaches

(This site is not affiliated with the IHS however this information is taken from the IHS website and  is presented here for educational purposes only)

The IHS uses a three part headache classification system.

Part I: The 4 Primary Headache types:

Primary headaches are generally those thought to originate from the Trigeminal nerve (the fifth cranial nerve).

1. Migraines have 6 categories

(without aura, With aura,childhood, retinal, complicated, probable)

2. Tension-Type Headaches have 4 categories

Infrequent episodic, Frequent episodic, Chronic, Probable

3. Cluster Headaches have 4 categories

Cluster, Paroxysmal,short lasting unilateral attacks, probable

4. Other Headaches have 7 categories

Stabbing, coughing, exertional, sexual exertion, Hypnic, thunderclap, hemicrania continua, daily persistent

Part II: The Secondary Headaches:

Secondary headaches have 8 categories and include headaches are from other sources either from within the skull (blood vessels) or external to the skull such as muscles and joints.

5. Head/neck trauma
6. Cranial / Cervical Vascular Disorder
7. Non Vascular Intra-Cranial Disorder
8. Substance or its withdrawal
9. Infection
10. Homeostasis Disorder
11. Disorder of Cranium,neck,eyes,ears,nose,sinuses, teeth, mouth,nose,face,
12. Psychiatric Disorder

Part III: Cranial Neuralgias:

Central and Primary Facial Pain and Other Headaches have 2 categories.

 13. Cranial Neuralgias
14. Other central or primary facial pain